Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Show & Tell Time August 19, 2009

Filed under: Show and Tell — arminta @ 10:41 pm

As many of you know, show and Tell is wasted on elementary schoolers. I’m all kinds of jazzed to be able to live this childhood tradition again, as a grownup who can appreciate it properly. If you’d like to see what the rest of the class is showing (and I hope you do), please pop by Mel’s place.

 

G and I are big on traditions. We have things that we like to do during certain times of each year. For example, during the fall we make a point to visit some local farms with the boy(s). The farm that we’ve been going to for years, and that had the best hayride EVER, sold their land to a grocery chain recently. So, last fall we had to find a new favorite farm. And we did! But that’s not what I’m showing.

 

This farm had a walking trail with little houses set up along the way. Each house belonged to a different fairy tale character. Belle had a castle, Tinkerbell had a tree house, and Snow White had a cottage. In Snow White’s cottage, there was a kitchenette. Snow White’s kitchenette was an exact replica of the play kitchen I had as a kid.

100_4049

 

I was thrilled. This was hands down my favorite toy as a child. I played house for hours and hours. I washed bottles and bathed my baby dolls in the sink. I loved my kitchen. Unfortunately, we had a house fire when I was 15 and the kitchen was lost.

 

Needless to say the kitchen won me over, we have a new fall tradition to go visit Snow White’s cottage.

 

6 Responses to “Show & Tell Time”

  1. Kristin Says:

    What a cool toy kitchen. The farm sounds like a fabulous place to visit.

  2. Jenn Says:

    OMG…I had a kitchen toy like that too…..absolutely adored it! Funny how something like that can bring back great childhood memories!

  3. a Says:

    I love the idea of the different houses for different characters. The farm sounds like a very fun place. That kitchen is awesome! It has everything!

  4. Lin Says:

    The farm sounds like such a cool place to hang out. The kitchen is a lovely walk down memory lane!

  5. How neat to have found that. I love it.

  6. what a sweet walk down memory lane


Leave a Reply

