Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

I Am the Boring September 9, 2009

Filed under: Diet,Infertility — arminta @ 11:36 am

and also, a broken record.

 

I keep pissing and moaning about the same old shit over and over. Like what, I thought the facts were going to change. Well, yes, I guess I did. I actually was quite certain they were going to change. So, shame on me. I should have long since figured out that hope is a whore and she’d let me down.

 

My point is, in an effort to stop being a boring broken record who only dwells on the negative broken-ness of her fucked up body and how much better everything would be had she just not been born at all, I’m going to dwell on change. I’m the Obama of infertility. I need a change, good, bad or indifferent just something different. Also, I need other things to obsess about while I’m not obsessing over my fertility (or lack thereof).

 

So, my new focus: diet. Right, because I can cure myself with the right food, right? (please just say yes, I’ve already deluded myself into thinking that this is the answer, so even if it isn’t, and it isn’t, I’m going to stick with it).

 

What do we know about diet and insulin resistance? Carbs = evil, protein = good.

What do we know about Minta? She thinks meat is yucky. Except bacon. She loves bacon.

 

I’m debating between a couple of different plans here. (Mind you, as I type this, I’m eating a doughnut, because fuck it)

GSA: A very regimented plan that is really for food addicts, but works for PCOS because it’s mostly raw veggies. It is very strict, and precise, though. We’re talking a scale to measure all portions, and specific portions alloted to specific meals. I have been successful on this plan short term in the past.

 

Raw: As in, just going raw. Supposed to be lots and lots of benefits to this one.

 

????

 

I feel a decision chart coming on.

 

Will post if I can find a way to add an Excel chart to the blog.

 

8 Responses to “I Am the Boring”

  1. Kate Says:

    I’m sure its possible to low-carb it without having to overindulge in meat. Tofu, beans, lentils, dont know if you eat seafood, eggs, etc all have protein in them. I have done south beach because of PCOS and it does work though it leaves you feeling weak for a week or so because of how drastic it is, but in my experience it did work. A WHOLE LOT SLOWER than normal people, but the weight did budge slowly.

    And keep venting, that’s what your blog is for, and I will continue reading.

    • arminta Says:

      You are absolutely right, there are lots of plant based protein options. (I’m not a vegetarian, meat just isn’t very appealing to me)

      South Beach! I’ll have to add that one to my decision chart. The plan that my dr likes is similar to the Zone, so I’ve got it on the chart, too. (yes, dork is the right word!)

  2. Simple Says:

    Wow – good luck.. I could never do that! And you have such a great attitude!
    Don’t give up! 🙂

  3. Good luck!! I think I’d die without meat… Me, I’m a carnivore!! I don’t know how you feel about weight-loss supplements but I’ve heard from a couple of friends with PCOS who’ve had success with Alli…

    I’m planning on trying it myself if the next cycle is a fail. (I’d rather DIE than get pregnant in November, I know I won’t be able to handle an August due date- so I’ll be taking a break) Let me know how the raw thing works for you… the day is coming when I may just be desperate enough to try it!!

  4. Jen Says:

    I count calories. Then I can eat whatever I want, within reason, but I just have to make portion decisions.
    But none of my pants fit, so maybe you don’t want to listen to me??

    • arminta Says:

      First, can I say it was your blog that got me into blogging. Also, I’m thinking maybe Olivia’s toes are higher calorie than you think 🙂 Kidding, of course, but, you are right calorie watch (ala Weight Watchers) will be added to the decision chart.


Leave a Reply

