Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Show & Tell Time: The 73rd Circle October 7, 2009

Filed under: Show and Tell — arminta @ 2:50 pm

(I’m showing and telling a little early this week, so the link may not work yet, but it will. )

 

As we enlightened folk know Show & Tell is wasted on children. Welcome to the grown up version, thanks to Mel. Please check out what the rest of the class is showing.

 

I mentioned earlier this week that I’m crocheting again. So, I thought I’d show the hats I’m making for the boys for Christmas. I’ll be making them a hat/scarf/mitten set but the hats are all I’ve worked on so far. Now, Big C’s a first grader, so I’m a little nervous about whether he’ll like it or think it looks stupid…

 

The striped one is C’s and the variegated one is c’s. And, yes that is a stack of mail peeking under the napkins I was trying to skillfully use to disguise the clutter of my dining room table.

 

Close up of Little C’s. After choosing a pattern this one took about 2 hours. I’m debating about adding earflaps and a chin tie… I will definitely be adding a big ass pom pom to the top. He’s a baby and I think it’ll be cute.

 

This is a close up of Big C’s. I’m adding blue ribbing to the bottom. Obviously, since he is a “big boy” (whatever the hell that means) I cannot add a big ass pom pom or chin tie 😦 But since I actually want him to use it, that’ll have to be OK. Because of the multiple colors (rather than one string that changes color) this one took about 3 hours before starting the ribbing.

 

 

I have shown these to a couple of people (G, of course) and they all want one either for themselves or their kids. I’m still a little scared that C will prefer something store bought and “normal.” Too damn bad!

 

So, not too shabby for being out of the yarn crafts for several years, huh?

 

Next week I’m going to show the first fire I ever lit all by myself in my own fireplace. It’ll be exciting…

 

11 Responses to “Show & Tell Time: The 73rd Circle”

  1. Lin Says:

    Wow! I’m so jealous of your knitting skills! I started crocheting a blanket 10 years ago…it still sits in pieces in a bag in my closet! 😉 I hope C and c LOVE it!

  2. Cute! I love the colors.

  3. Nice!

    I knit and crochet but prefer knitting. For those who want to learn, knittinghelp.com has great videos and information on how to learn to knit through the ‘net.

    It’s a great resource!

    The colors are gorgeous btw and hope C and c love them…

  4. Lynn Says:

    Those are really beautiful hats! I hope Big C loves his! I’m actually working on a scarf for my 15 year old (yikes! Pretty sure she’s gonna think she’s too old for it) niece for Christmas. I’m not great at crocheting, but I’m getting better. So far I know only one stitch (despite the fact I’ve been doing it for a few years, hehe) and I often get my projects too tight, but I’m working on it anyway. Again, the hats look great! And I think the pom-pom will be a great addition to Little C’s hat 😀

  5. karlinda Says:

    They’re great. Wish I could crochet or knit that neatly.

  6. Rachel Says:

    I wish I could do that! I have never tried. I love the colors that you used.

  7. Kristin Says:

    Those are gorgeous. I love the vibrant colors. Did you use a pattern or just wing it?

  8. Lavender Luz Says:

    I’m very impressed! You have a lot of talent. Love the colors especially!

  9. cute hats… i agree a “big ass pom pom” is definitely in order


Leave a Reply

