Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Show & Tell Time: The 74th Circle October 15, 2009

Filed under: Show and Tell — arminta @ 9:01 am

As we enlightened folk know Show & Tell is wasted on children. Welcome to the grown up version, thanks to Mel. Please check out what the rest of the class is showing.

 

G and I have lived in several different home over the last 11 years. We’ve had apartments, we’ve lived with my mom, we’ve owned a house, and we’ve rented houses. The house we’re living in now is the first one on our homes that’s ever had a fireplace. I think all homes north of Lexington, KY should be required by law to have functional, heat providing fireplaces. This fireplace is more of the decorative variety. Don’t get me wrong, a fire can be lit, and smoke will not fill the house (unless you’re a jackass and place a box fan in front of the fire to spread the heat…) but it doesn’t really heat the place. Mostly just the heat from the fire and the furnace fly up the chimney.

 

Even still, I love the idea of sitting by the fire, so I decided to light one anyway. I went to the grocery and bought “firewood” and “fat sticks.” Things I’ve heard my mother talk about in reference to building fires at her house. I crumpled up junk mail and arranged wood and lit 489 matches. My husband started the actual fire that burned through the evening. I was never able to accomplish more than burning some mail.

 

The next night, I was determined that I was going to start a fire. I mean c’mon how hard could it be? So, I went to the grocery and bought firewood, and something else. A secret weapon. I bought a fire garauntee. That’s right folks, I bought a “ready log.” I had never heard of a ready log until that very moment, but it seemed perfect, so I took it home. It was fantastic! I lit the log wrappings and in two minutes we had a real fire. Mind you, it was burning chemically treated pressed wood chips, but hello, I started it myself… and it was pretty.

 

 

So, the next step is learn how to build a real fire 🙂

 

8 Responses to “Show & Tell Time: The 74th Circle”

  1. Erica Says:

    My husband always makes it looks so easy. I even have a hard time with the ready logs.

  2. a Says:

    It’s all in the stacking! You have to leave plenty of spaces for the air to get through, and then you can fill the spaces with your mail. As they burn up, the air flow will let the wood catch on fire too.

    Or, you can get a gas fire, because it’s so much easier to flip a switch! That’s what we do in our house…

  3. Krystal Says:

    Great job! We don’t have a fireplace, but starting a fire when we’re camping is always an…interesting experience. My husband (the Eagle Scout) always wants to do it old school, but usually ends up with a jug of lighter fluid and a bunch of paper plates! lol

  4. Sam Says:

    I think that there is definitely a knack to lighting fires!! Mum and Dad have a big old house and although they have proper central heating they ocassionally light the fire – it’s funny cos we all start the evening up close but by the end of the evening – we are at the other end of the room!!!

  5. you gotta do the teepee method, although 489 matches isnt bad for your first try 🙂

  6. Mel Says:

    Is it okay that I’m totally cracking up? “I mean, we may have inhaled something really really dangerous, but come on, I started it.” Even though I have started a fire in a fire circle while camping, I don’t know if I could actually do it in a fireplace if someone asked me to do it. We haven’t lived in a place with a fireplace. It sounds cozy.

  7. Kristin Says:

    I miss having a fireplace. Sadly, our wood stove isn’t functional.

  8. Savannah Says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,


Leave a Reply

