Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Money Matters January 26, 2010

Filed under: Fall Baby,Pregnant — arminta @ 2:26 pm

It has just occurred to my husband that in about seven months I might have a baby, and that might cost some money. I think he’s caught the money stresses a little early, but he has them nonetheless. The truth is, while things are going to be looking up significantly in the next couple of months, we have actually been having a rather hard time financially. Our expenses were quite high last year and frankly in my depressed state I let the bills get a little out of control.

At any rate, his concerns got me to thinking about lifestyle after the baby is born and what I want versus what is practical. Being practical sucks! I am going to have to be a lot more focused and budget minded in the next few months. It’s going to be a big adjustment going from the unstructured way we live now (hello eating out just because I don’t feel like cooking) to the way we’re going to need to live.

 

2 Responses to “Money Matters”

  1. jill Says:

    Finance issues are totally no fun :/ I somehow always convince myself that having a baby wouldn’t be all THAT expensive but I’m sure I would snap out of that opinion if I actually got pregnant. My husband would be stressing like crazy too. Wishing you luck with getting it all in order!

  2. I joke often about how pale my husband got when I started discussing the financial aspects of life with infant. He was terrified when we bought all the “big ticket” items and their cost… I said- wait until we have to buy diapers!! And then proceeded to tell him the approximate cost of one month’s worth of disposables. (I honestly think he almost fainted when we had the “what if” discussion about formula and what it would cost!)

    It all balances out though- and as long as people have been having kids- they have been figuring out their finances to work around them!!


Leave a Reply

