Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

The GD GD March 22, 2010

Filed under: Fall Baby,Pregnant,The GD GD — arminta @ 8:38 pm

Today was the first appointment with the perinatologist. He was friendly, disorganized and took a personal phone call during my consult. Color me not impressed. He seemed to know his business, just had a bad “bedside” manner.

OK, first: Baby still going strong. Forgot to ask for heart rate or length measurements, but was told all is looking great. Baby measures within the normal range for 15w3d. Baby started sleeping with back to the wand, but woke up and started wiggling around just as soon as she started poking at him/her.

So, what’s the rub? Let’s see… I have PCOS, my Mom had Gestational Diabetes in at least one pregnancy, diabetes runs rampant in my family and I’m pregnant. His conclusion: GD is in my immediate future, so might as well start treating it now, or monitoring it at least. This means, I get to be poked by a needle FOUR MORE TIMES A DAY!!!!!!!!! Oh but, hooray?

Is this baby worth a needle breaking my skin six times a day? ABSOLUTELY.

Would I trade this baby for a needle-free life? Definitely NOT.

Does that mean that I have to be happy about my needle filled existence? Not so much…

Other than the Diabeetus we have to wait for more records to make it to this doctor. He was asking me about tests I’ve never heard mentioned before. Thanksfully he’s literally right across the hall from Dr. Groll, so all info he wants is like 10 steps outside of his door.

Any words of wisdom for dealing with the GD GD?

 

2 Responses to “The GD GD”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    I don’t have any advice or insight, but I will grumble at the GD on your behalf… grrrr…

  2. K Says:

    GD sucks but its good that they’re starting to monitor you now so things don’t get bad later. I pricked four times daily for a few weeks but once I could show that I was managing my numbers well I am now allowed to prick myself only twice a day. It’s not so bad! Really! 🙂 Plus- its helped me reign in what was previously rampant weight gain.


Leave a Reply

