Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Mean Kitty April 19, 2010

Filed under: Completely and Entirely Unrelated to IF — arminta @ 8:39 am

Literally, this is about my cat.

My cat that I’ve had for 11 years is gone. No, she’s not dead. My sister gave her away.

What happened? When we moved from the house we were renting from my mother back to our house, Big C asked if Mean Kitty could stay with him. Mean Kitty was happy there and my sister seemed happy to keep care of her, so I said sure.

Now, it’s true that G is not a fan of Mean Kitty, and he was talking about taking her to the no kill shelter to see if another family would want her. I was not arguing with him because I knew that the shelter wasn’t accepting cats at the time and he would give up on the idea anyway. G’s main issue with the cat is the litter box, which we rectified by making her an outdoors cat. Shockingly, Mean Kitty loved this change.

But, Big C wanted her to stay with him and she was happy at that house so Aunt Minta said “Sure” (as she almost nearly always does when Big C asks for something). Things were fine for a couple of weeks. I went over and visited her she was happy, the kids were happy, the sister seemed happy. I made a good choice… or so I thought.

A couple of nights ago my cousin called my sister to let her know that there were a few women in the yard looking at Mean Kitty (who does get a bit manky looking this time of year, which I’m assuming is a shedding/allergy thing?) and debating about “what to do about this apparently ownerless cat.” Yes, there are a bunch of nosey bitches in that neighborhood. Well one of the nosey bitches mentioned her desire to “save” my cat to the guy that cuts the lawn over there, and he passed the message along to my mother and sister.

So, my sister called me and said “Hey this nosey bitch wants Mean Kitty is that allright?” No, that’s not right… She called and said “Would you be OK with me giving your cat to this bitch across the street?” No, that doesn’t seem right either…

I remember now! She didn’t call me at all! Nope, she just told the guy, that if it’ll keep the nosey bitch out of her yard, then she could have the cat.

I would like to know where in the fuck she gets off? On what planet was that her decision to make?

Yeah, so I’m PISSED, and hurt. For crying out loud I had that cat for 11 years. Obviously, I have some attachment to it. Obviously, I care about it.

I want to tell her to march her ass right on over to the cat lady’s house and inform her that she really wasn’t authorized to give my cat away, and get her back and I’ll just bring her here. This is also what Big C wants. (Yet another example of H not thinking of anyone else, not her kids, not her sister…)

This is not what G wants. G says maybe the cat will be happy with this nosey, cat loving bitch who is just f’ing like his mother (who Mean Kitty hates and has attacked not once, but twice (like full on claws breaking skin attacked…), which is another feather in Mean Kitty’s cap). Maybe she’ll adapt and be just fine and the lady will let her out so the kids can play with her (fat chance). But mostly, he’s worried about money. Right now, most of the bring home income comes home on my check. After the baby is born that will no longer be the case. Our goal is for me to be a SAHM. Which means G is responsible for feeding all of the mouths in the house. He is quite worried about feeding us, let alone keeping up with the $100’ish a month that is currently being spent to feed animals (if Mena Kitty is included, $80 for the dogs). So, he would prefer to let the cat go, and assume that she’s happy.

I’m having a REALLY hard time with it, though. She’s my cat. I’ve had her for 11 years. She was there at our first apartment. I got him to agree to getting her in a “special” way. She was there when I lived alone in Columbus and G had moved back to our hometown and I was dying of pneumonia (thankfully he did come back and take care of me and I didn’t die, and we got back together and have stronger marriage now). She was there when Big C learned to crawl and walk. She has sat with me through many happy and sad times.

I really want to be able to feel that G’s right and it’s time to let her go, because a new a far more important life is joining our family.

But, right now… I just want my cat back!

 

4 Responses to “Mean Kitty”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Oh hon… there is all kinds of ‘not right’ with this situation! I mean if your dh has financial concerns and you discuss it and come to the decision together to get rid of a pet, that’s one thing… but for your sister to just up and give your cat away without even mentioning it to you! Gah!

    I don’t have any advice, but I am shocked and hurting for you!

  2. Krystal Says:

    I reiterate my previous offer to slap people for you.

  3. Call me captain obvious but your sister is a bitch!!

    I’d slap the face off her for you if I could… what an insensitive, selfish cow!!!

  4. Yo-yo Mama Says:

    What?? Is there anyway you can go see the neighbor or whoever the heck has Mean Kitty and get him back? That was incredibly inconsiderate of her.


Leave a Reply

