Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

OB Home May 3, 2010

Filed under: Fall Baby,Pregnant — arminta @ 3:18 pm

I had my first real prenatal appt with Dr. W. It was home. Being familiar with our background he was excited that finally we have made it this far. He asked if I had questions 3 or 4 times. He remembered that he delivered Big C. And… he’s supportive of my all natural line of thinking for the birthing process!

The hospital where I will be delivering has the only natural birth center located inside of a hospital in the entire state of Ohio! They are also big on 24 hour rooming in with NO separation unless absolutely necessary. From our conversation today, Dr. W is perfectly at ease with my signing up for this program!!!

Another thing he is perfectly at ease with… re-opening the hot tub. He did say that he’d like to see me lower the temp to 96 rather than 98 because at this point the baby is running a little warmer than I am and as I get bigger and the baby gets closer to the surface temperature regulation will get harder for both of us. But… now that I have clear guidance from a trusted medical professional (G didn’t trust the last set of docs) I’m hopeful that the hot tub will be reopened this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

Lastly, my weight… I was up 3 pounds on Thursday. I have re-lost those same three pounds. I was a little worried at a net gain of 0 at 21 weeks. Dr. W… not so much. Everything feels on track (size of ute and all), I’m not yakking up everything I eat and I am eating so… it’s a good sign that I’m managing things properly.

Anatomy scan Thursday. Sorry to be so boring.

 

2 Responses to “OB Home”

  1. Krystal Says:

    Not boring at all! I’m so glad it went well!

    I think the concept of 24 hour rooming in is great, because you’re going to have to do it when you get home, so you might as well start now! lol We don’t have that where I work, but moms have the option of sending them to the nursery with me or me sending them right back to them when I’m done with vitals/baths/etc.

    As for the weight, I wouldn’t be too concerned either. If you have some extra padding as it is, baby is probably going to be just fine. I’m glad that the doc wasn’t concerned about it. That’s one less thing for you to stress about!

  2. woot!! that’s so awesome that you have a great OB that you can talk to- and who’s on the same page as far as natural birth.

    As far as the weight gain- everything I’ve read says that it’s “normal” for us bigger girls to gain less or no weight during pregnancy. Metabolism does speed up during, so… no worries!! ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

