Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Why No Belly Shots July 18, 2010

Filed under: Fall Baby,I'm a bitch, here's why,Pregnant — arminta @ 4:25 pm

One thing that you probably won’t see around here are pictures of my belly. I probably also will not have maternity photos made. Not that I don’t want to memorialize this time, but to be honest… my belly, not so cute.

Actually, my belly is a bit scary. I have a ring of bruises that’s about 2 inches wide around my belly button. Which looks really bad. It doesn’t really hurt, but it looks terrible.

Also… While my belly is quite hard and I can plainly feel where Baby G lives, I have lost so much weight that I have a flap of loose skin hanging off of the bottom of my belly. The best part? It’s triangular. It looks really, really funky. Best part? It’s really soft, so the seam of my pants/shorts give it a camel toe appearance iffins I pull them up enough that the crotch of my pants isn’t between my knees. G is already talking about saving for a tummy tuck. I am mortified.

Because for real? I’m fat. I’m fat as hell. I was fat as hell before I got pregnant. The OB is estimating that I have actually lost 25-30 pounds of fat so far in this pregnancy (i.e. 7% to 8% of my pre-pregnancy weight). This is awesome, right? I mean who doesn’t want to lose weight rather than gain? One of the biggest things I was scared of was busting 400 pounds. One thing that never occurred to me? How my body would look AFTER.

I was certainly no model before (plus sized or otherwise). And, I am in no way saying that I don’t think aesthetic changes are worth it. Obviously, my appearance has not been my top concern for a long, long time. (One of the disadvantages of meeting your soul mate so young.) But, this skin flap is really bothering me. It’s vain and stupid. Maybe if I was getting laid on the regular I wouldn’t be so sensitive about it now (he’s afraid of poking the baby’s head and is convinced that he’s capable of doing that). But fact is, I am sensitive about it and I feel really shallow and ridiculous for it.

 

3 Responses to “Why No Belly Shots”

  1. jill Says:

    Could always have some pics taken with clothes over the belly 🙂 Not to share here if you don’t want but just to remember this time.

    I have a skin flap kind of thing as well so I know kind of how you feel. I have a vertical c-section-type scar all the way down so my belly roll is creased. It’s so not pretty. I’ve considered a tummy tuck but probably won’t if I never get pregnant. I’m curious (and a little scared) at what a pregnancy will do to my belly.

  2. jenn Says:

    I thought I was the only pregnant lady in the whole world with a random hangy flap of belly skin under my belly. It is so not attractive… also doesn’t make for cute see my baby belly pics… lol. This is one thing they need to put in that damn what to worry about when your expecting book.


Leave a Reply

