Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

My Favorite Movie* August 2, 2010

Filed under: Grown Up Slam Books — arminta @ 10:00 am

*Edited to fix grammatical errors. Gee whiz, who proofs this shit?!?!

For those who wish to follow along and/or totally copy me (as I am copying others), this is part of my 30 Day Blog Journal.

Oh, this is even harder than the song one! I love movies. I love them more than I should, probably. I have favorites like X-Men Origins:Wolverine, that are just entertaining. I have fav’s like Talledaga Nights which are funny as hell. Then there are the indie movies like Stranger Than Fiction and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, which I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. And who doesn’t like a good scare? Of course, we can’t leave out the magical world of Potter. We all know that I LURVE all things Harry Potter.

So, what is my FAVORITE movie? Like of all time? Like just one?

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back*

This movie has it all: action, suspense, a love triangle, good v evil, cutting edge (for it’s day) special fx, betrayal, redemption, plot twists and a timeless story.

OK, and Harrison Ford was pretty much at his smokin’ hot prime…

I do love my Potter, but no one Potter movie has all of the makings of a good movie that Empire Strikes Back has. Unless they decide to completely deviate from the book for the Deathly Hallows and make Voldemort really be Harry’s father (I’m KIDDING, of course, that would be awful, and inconsistent and horrendous story telling).

*I reserve the right to change my mind the second someone mentions a movie I like more…

** Please note Twilight is not mentioned above… I does love Robert Pattinson, and for camp and tween angst Twilight is a good movie, but next to those mentioned above (especially the Potter’s, which are also based on a young adult literature series) it just doesn’t compare. It’d be like comparing Snakes on a Plane with Pulp Fiction. I love to watch Snakes on a Plane, but I know it’s not really a good movie.

 

Leave a Reply

