Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

My Famous Cake August 21, 2010

Filed under: Grown Up Slam Books — arminta @ 12:08 am

Day 21: A Recipe

I make cakes. I used to make cakes for money, like a job. Then my real job became too overwhelming and I didn’t have time anymore and I stopped. Then a bunch of TV shows about making cakes hit the airwaves and I was all “Awww, I missed my wave.”

But, I digress. My post today is about a recipe. In my case it is a cake recipe. A delicious, wonderful yummy cake recipe. This is a special occasion cake. It’s fancy and refined and yumm-o.

It is called Black and White cake, which sounds really plain, but trust me it’s so not. For starters the Black cake is a chocolate cheesecake and the White cake is a very delicate white sponge cake. The icing is a cocoa whipped cream and the only garnish I use are chocolate dipped walnuts. Remember when I said yumm-o?

Black Cake:

16 oz Cream Cheese

3/4 cup Sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp Vanilla

3 oz Semisweet Chocolate (melted & cooled)

1 cup Sour Cream

White Cake:

2 cups Cake Flour (or sifted all purpose)

1 Tbs Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1 cup Sugar (separated, hold back 1/4 cup)

1/3 cup Vegetable Oil (I use coconut oil melted if I have it, otherwise I use canola)

3 Eggs separated (at room temp, the whites will not whip properly if they’re cold)

2/3 cup Water

1 Tbs Vanilla

1/2 tsp Cream of Tartar

Cocoa Whipped Cream:

1 pint Heavy Whipping Cream

1/4 cup Confectioners Sugar

2 Tbs Cocoa Powder

1 tsp Vanilla


Chocolate Dipped Walnuts:

1oz Semi-sweet chocolate melted

Walnut halves (16 or 20)

Prepare the pans!

1. Preheat oven to 325  degrees Farenheit. Prepare 9-inch springform and 2 9-inch baking pans (butter bottoms and sides, fit with parchment round, butter the parchment, too).

Prepare the Black Cake:

1. Beat cream cheese in stand-up mixer on medium until smooth and fluffy. Scrape down the sides as you go. Gradually beat in the sugar, then eggs (one at a time). Turn the mixer down to low and fold in the vanilla, chocolate and sour cream until well blended.

2. Pour the mixture into the springform pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes (until the center seems almost set when jiggled). Let cool completely on wire rack, remove the sides of the springform and let chill for 4 hours.

Prepare the White cake:

1. Sift together dry ingredients, flour through 3/4 cup sugar, in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients.

2. In a separate bowl mix together the wet ingredients (egg yolks, oil, water and vanilla). Pour into the well in the dry bowl. Use a wire wisk to combine the wet and dry.

3. In standup mixer, on high with wisk attached, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar until frothy. Beat in the remaining 1/4 cup sugar until stiff peaks form. Fold egg mixture into batter very gently.

4. Divide mixture between two prepared cake pans. Bake for 35 minutes, or until center springs back when lightly touched. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes, turn out onto rack and let cool completely on the rack.

Prepare the Walnuts!

1. Melt chocolate

2. Dip walnuts

Ahh, the Cocoa Whipped Cream

1. Put the standup mixer bowl and paddle in the freezer while everybody else is chilling/cooling off. (Trust me, you will get much better whipped cream this way.) For that matter, let the whipping cream hang out up there for an hour too.

2. In standup on medium speed beat all of the ingredients together until stiff peaks form. I add the cream, start the mixer then slowly add the rest in order.

Assemble the Yum

1. Place a white layer on server platter/cake round. Spread top with 1/3 c whipped cream.

2. Invert the black layer on top of the prepare white layer. Spread with 1/3 c whipped cream.

3. Place final white layer on top.

4. Spoon 1.5-2 c whipped cream into a decorating bag fitted with a large star tip. Spread the rest of the whipped cream around the top and sides of the prepared layers. I usually go for a fluffy look rather than a real icing smooth look.

5. Pipe on a border and some poofs on top. I usually go with a fat rosette bottom border and 8 fat rosettes on top.

6. Place walnuts wherever you think they look best. I usually go with one on each rosette on top and a few in the bottom border. Sometimes I crush a few plain walnuts and sprinkle the dust around for garnish. Sometimes I mix it up with covered and plain walnuts. All depends on the mood.

Refrigerate this cake! But for real. It’s full of dairy. Lots and lots and lots of dairy.

Before you put it in the fridge though… eat a huge slice. Enjoy with milk, or if you’re like me and you enjoy the booze… with red wine or a Kahlua and cream or pretty much anything because this is a delicious cake.

One day when I’m allow to cook again, I shall make this cake and take pictures for you to see its beauty. Assuming I don’t get drunk on red wine before it’s done and I forget… I do usually get drunk on red wine whilst making this cake.

How far along? 36w0d

Maternity clothes? At home, have double the wardrobe!

Body Oddities? Morning sickness comes back, yay :(

Sleep? I can sleep again!!!

Best moment this week? Laying in bed with G, him feeling the baby and feeling just content.

Worst moment? When DW said “let’s go down to L&D to decide if we need to induce tonight or we can wait until next week.

Movement? Picked back up!

Food cravings? I don’t like food anymore.

Rings? With the new hand/face edema being constant, the ring is off

Intense Dreams? I have to pee too often to dream anymore

Medical Concerns? High BP/potential preclampsia

What I miss? IDK lots of things. My appetite, the freedom to walk to the basement, feeling rested upon waking…

What I look forward to: This time next week

Emotional State? Stressed out and scared. Work is stressing me, and I feel like I have a million things left to do, but I can’t think of any.

 

3 Responses to “My Famous Cake”

  1. jill Says:

    Wow – that sounds like one amazing cake! Would love to see a picture of one all put together. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    O. M. G.

    I felt my blood sugar going crazy just reading that recipe. When are you coming to Canada to bake this craziness for me? Hmmm?

  3. jenn Says:

    Now I have to make this… So not going to help me lose to baby weight… but I bet its worth it… : )


Leave a Reply

