Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Remembering October 16, 2010

Filed under: Miscarriage,We're parents? — arminta @ 6:53 pm

Yesterday was a busy day for us. We went to my OB (58 pounds lost! boo-yah!) and visited with family to have pictures made (I have two cousins that are better photographers than me, so we spent the day with one and got some pics made). We had lunch with old friends. We even stopped to visit Nana and ended up playing cards with my Mom and Brother until midnight (where we did light candles for each of ours and one for our friends). It was a BIG, BIG day. With lots going on.

 

In the back of my mind I couldn’t help but to wonder how my friends were holding up, though. Those who finally have a living baby, and those who are still only mothers to angels. I wondered as well what the day would have been like with our angels. What would life be like with a 14, 6, 4, 2, almost 1 year old and a four month old and Baby G (a seven week old).

 

Besides impossible of course.

 

But, that’s what it is. Impossible. From a timing stand point we could have had all but Spring Baby (who would now be four months old). But, the reality is if any of our angels had been born and were still with us, we wouldn’t have the others and we wouldn’t have Baby G.

 

Everyday they are remembered. Everyday they are loved. Everyday they are longed for and missed. Everyday.

 

But, today (well, yesterday) there is a physical reminder and an act of remembrance. I told Baby G about all of his brothers and sisters. I told him how old they would be. I told him how much Mommy and Daddy love all seven of their children. I told him how unique he was to be an “only child” with six brothers and sisters. I told him how he was so special because he was the oldest and youngest of seven.

 

The world may see me as the mother of one. But, I know I am the the mother of seven.

 

Leave a Reply

