Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

The Week From Hell: Part 1 September 24, 2011

Filed under: Completely and Entirely Unrelated to IF,Family — arminta @ 11:49 pm

Warning: I’m getting ready to bitch and whine. A lot. It won’t be funny.

 

Those of you who are friends with me on Facebook know that this week has been a wicked awful one. I’m still reeling from it. It all started Sunday when my Mom called to let me know that Waldo was acting funny. OK, back story… when we went on vacation Waldo stayed at my mom’s house with my dad* and when we got back he seemed so happy that we just let him keep staying there. My dad was taking him for walks and he was sleeping in the room with my mom and he was happy, I couldn’t make him come home when he was doing so well over there. So, we visited him 2x a week and let him stay at mom’s. Which would be why she was calling me to tell me that my dog was acting weird. He was refusing to come in the house and hadn’t eaten in a couple of days. Naturally, I went straight to him. This is my beloved pooch. My best friend of 15 years. My fur-baby. I flew to him.

 

And found… a very, very ill puppy. I got him to eat some bacon and drink some water, but he wouldn’t come in for me, either. He was rather listless and lethargic. He was sick. It seemed like his hips were hurting him really badly. So, I made plans to take him to the vet on Monday.

Monday came and he was worse. He wouldn’t drink or eat (even fresh bacon). He had dragged himself into mom’s shed and would not be budged. I sat with him for an hour while waiting for my husband to take him to the vet, he didn’t move. I couldn’t go. I knew that at his age being this sick wasn’t a good sign.

Waldo didn’t come home from the vet. She said that he had a virus which had exacerbated kidney failure in progress. She could keep him for a few days and rehydrate him and tube feed him and he may or may not pull through. Even if he did pull through, she didn’t give him more than a month due to the strain on his kidneys. They don’t do kidney transplants on dogs. “This is not the movies. And at his age he wouldn’t survive the surgery anyway.” Yes, G honestly asked that. Yes, if we could have spent $10k and saved him for another year or two, we would have (never mind the fact that we don’t have $1k let alone $10k in the bank). The humane thing would be to help him pass peacefully in as little pain as possible. The last thing he saw was G patting him and telling him how loved he was and what a great dog he has been.

 

I m still beside myself with grief. I am still in shock. How is it possible that my Waldo-bear is gone? Sure, I knew it was coming. He was 15, his kidneys have been failing for a couple of years and he’s been slowing down. Knowing a thing is coming and experiencing it are two very different things. Please know I doubt there has ever been a better or better loved dog on this planet.

 

But see, that was only Monday and it has been the week from hell, not the day from hell…

 

* My parents are still divorced, my dad is now also divorced from the lunch lady (aka Man Hands, aka Wife #2) and was broke and needed a place to stay and for some crazy reason my mother let him move back in at her house. As a renter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

