Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Eating Should Be Easier November 2, 2011

Filed under: Baby G,Diet,My Fat Ass — arminta @ 12:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

Yes, yes, I know eating is easy. Trust me, I got lots of ass testifying to the fact that I know eating is easy. However, that abundance of rump is also my evidence that knowing what to eat can be very, very complicated.

Recently I embarked on a 10 day juice fast. At the end, I felt pretty good. My RA was not terrible. I had lost a good deal of weight. It did me right. But, only a few days after my fast ended I was in the accident and all (yes, ALL) benefits were immediately nullified. At this point my RA is right back where it was, and my weight is darn close (and it came on OVERNIGHT which = water weight). After the juice fast it was my intention to maintain a primarily veggie/vegan’ish diet. I was going to allow a couple of meals a week for splurges but the majority of meals were to be plant based.

Not only was that my intention, it’s what I did. Really. No, really. Yes, in the time immediately following the accident we had a few more splurge meals than I prefer to admit, but… as soon as I was able we were back to mama making salads for dinner every night and the splurges were cut back to truly 2-3 meals a week. Proof of this? My husband has lost 35 pounds in the last month. I have not.

So, what conclusion do I draw from this information? It would appear the plant centric diet doesn’t really agree with my body. But, but, but!!! There is so much evidence that plant diets are good and omni diets are bad, right? Meat causes acidosis and bone erosion, no? Casein has been PROVEN to grow cancer?!?!?!?!?

Well, I suppose that depends on who you ask. See, I was rather addicted to nutrition documentaries for a while and they all agreed: vegan = good, meat = death. So, I tried. I really tried. Sure, I don’t want to die young and I do want better health, but my primary motivation is giving Baby G the best possible diet from the start. I want him used to the healthiest foods. I want him to have everything he needs to grow up strong and healthy. I want him to have a mama that can play and will live to see his kids.

So, how do we get there? What the hell do I eat to 1) lose weight and 2) improve my health and 3) set a good example for my little man?

I don’t know, either. But, I’m working on it.

 

2 Responses to “Eating Should Be Easier”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Just my opinion, of course, but I really think that moderation is the key.

    In dealing with the GD both last year and now, I have found that portion control and using the 1/2-1/4-1/4 division of food (1/2 you plate filled with veg of the non-starchy variety, 1/4 filled with your starch, and 1/4 filled with lean meat)helps greatly. Also, an old trick… use smaller plates. The size of the average dinner plate in north america has increased by at least a 1/3 over the last 50 years.

    Since I’ve been doing this I have found that my meat consumption has gone down significantly, and when I go grocery shopping my cart is filled more with fresh produce than anything else.

  2. ecoprincess Says:

    I’ve struggled with the whole vegan=good, omni=bad thing. But trying to eat vegan meals all the time really doesn’t work for me. It makes me hungry and grumpy and leads to me feeling worse off when I eat a load of crap to try and satisfy that. Now the only real rule I have is that I have to eat as many veggies as possible – whether I have them on the side of a slice of pizza, a baked potato or chicken doesn’t matter and both I and my partner feel much better for it.


Leave a Reply

