Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Going Bananas for Bananas January 1, 2012

There are two things that I will openly own being a judgmental bitch about when it comes to parenting. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll judge in private all day long about lots of things, but about two things only will I really be a vocal bitch: healthy 4 & 5 year old’s who still wear diapers and super picky eaters.

 

I get that diapers are a big deal for some kids, especially with pooping. Big C would pee on the potty all day long from 18’ish months, but asked for a diaper and had to go hide and be in a certain position for MONTHS before he finally got to the point where he was all the way out of diapers. But, that was when he was 2. Not 4. When we start getting past three and a half and potty is still an issue, it’s time to talk to the doctor, to make sure everybody’s healthy, then get on the ball. Because you can’t wear diapers to kindergarten. (If you are dealing with a 4-5 year old in diapers, I’m sorry. I get that it’s probably a huge PIA for you and you wish the kid would shit on the pot, too.)

 

The picky eater one, I have always been much less understanding on. Hard to imagine, yes? Here’s my take, you offer kids TONS of variety. Give them lots of healthy options, eventually they will get hungry enough to eat. Little C rocked my world on this hypothesis, a little, but eventually even he came around. See his first nanny would let him eat ANYTHING just to get him to eat. So guess what he was eating? Well, what would you eat if you could eat ANYTHING? Duh, Cool Ranch Doritos and Fruity Pebbles all day! Or, even better, let’s not eat, let’s just drink milk. Gallons and gallons of milk. I did not realize he had been surviving on nothing but trans fat and high fructose corn syrup, so of course when he started coming to my house and was offered things like cheese, strawberries, cantaloupe, apples, broccoli and Cheerios he wouldn’t eat. He was three, and he went two whole days not eating here and only eating at his mom’s. But, eventually, he did try some of my “weird food.” He now eats pretty normally. Don’t get me wrong, he’s still a picky eater, but he will try new foods now, and has gotten used to the fact that Aunt Minta just doesn’t let kids eat crap. But see, he was three when we fought this battle…

 

At 16 months those reasoning skills just aren’t there. Likewise… a 16 month will just be a hungry ass until you give them what they want. So, right now, we’re mostly just eating bananas, peanut butter toast and avocados. Because everything else ends up on the floor to screams of “b’NANA!!!!!!!!!!  b’NANA!!!!!!!!!!!” (or, “mmmm st”, that would be mmm toast, which is what I say as I cut it up and put it on his tray, or “CAAAAAAAAAA-do”). Last week, it was eggs. Eggs, eggs and more eggs. Now, eggs are “cucky” and are met with a deliberate head shake and “hunh-uh.” This kid used to bash Indian food like nobody’s business. He was the baby garbage disposal. You needed food eaten? Give it to Baby G, much like Mikey, he’d eat anything. These days, not so much. He’ll eat 7 bananas in a day, or 3 pieces of PB toast in a sitting, sure… But pasta? You must be kidding!

 

Tell me this is just a phase. Tell me I’m not reaping the fruits of my judgement. Lie to me if you have to…

 

6 Responses to “Going Bananas for Bananas”

  1. It’s totally a phase. Em has been an egg whore her entire solid food eating life… this week, she decided that eggs were of the devil and refuses to eat them. She’s still awesome when it comes to eating other stuff, but she seems to be going through this phase of choosing a food and treating it like poison! Of course, I too could be reaping what I sow as far as the judgy mcjudgerton thing… I’m not picky in my judgements, but food has always been the one that I get pretty vocal about. The parents that insist their child will only drink milk if it’s chocolate, or that their kids won’t drink water unless there’s juice in it- or worse, iced tea or koolaid (aka colored sugar)- make me grind my teeth. I want to smack the stupid out of them!! Good luck gettin Baby G back on the food track- apparently their tastes become limited at this age to help prevent accidental poisoning… so it’s really a good thing!! lol

    • arminta Says:

      We are having the same thing with eggs! They were a favorite, and now, he hates them. LOL at the iced tea comment, did you see the picture on FB where Graham totally hijacked my hubs’s iced tea? (Not that we let him drink tea, but he does try…) Glad to hear other toddlers are in on the revolt and my kid isn’t some kind of food freak 🙂

  2. Totally a Phase. ( I hope. Cause I’m in the baot with you on this one to a lesser extent.) Jack will not eat meat at all, all of the sudden. * Sigh* But if you give him sauce of any kind to dip it in, he will eat anything. He discovered SAUCE at my mom’s when we had sea food, and I was using tartar sauce. Now he wants sauce of some sort on everything. *sigh*

    • arminta Says:

      Oh yes, dipping sauce! Thankfully, I’ve convinced Graham that yogurt is dipping sauce 🙂 What is going on with these babies and they’re eating all of a sudden?

  3. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Totally a phase. I think it’s a bit about control and their exerting their independance. Ginny is in a phase where whatever goes in her mouth has to come back out for her to examine. Cheerios, cereal, potatoes, meat, pasta… everything. Even milk on occasion. Thankfully, so far the only food she absolutely refuses to eat is carrots, but I’m anticipating a rebellion any day.

    BTW, I am totally with you on the drinking milk thing. Yes milk is an important part of a baby’s diet, but it is not the only thing that they can drink. Water is great and needs no adding-to or keeping cool for it to be good. Ginny is rather partial to drinking water out of my water bottle… somehow it’s better than from her sippy cup. And if one more person asks me when I’m going to start her on juice I’m going to scream. It’s just not necessary.

    (sorry for the ramble)


Leave a Reply

