Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

I’m a Starter June 5, 2012

I was gonna tell you guys all about how our summer is starting (i.e. Big C and Lil C and RA, Oh MY!), but instead I hoped on over to Mel’s to get a much less bitchy idea for something to bore you with!

 

But, lo and behold her prompt was actually something I’ve been thinking about for a while… How do you feel about starting new projects?

 

Easy! I LOVE starting projects. One of my favorite parts of my pre-Mommyhood career was meeting with clients and mapping out their project. Then I had to slug through all the “work” then I loved handing it over to them. But, I totally dig the planning and pre-work of new projects. I seriously could just plan projects for other people for a living. I always have ideas for new projects, too. Speaking of, I’m totally thinking about opening a second Etsy shop for my nature photography. Why? Is my current shop not enough work? It is! I just love new projects!

 

But it occurs to me that as awesome as it is to be a project starter… there’s no sense to be starting all these projects without the follow through. And, there’s where I fall down. I’m horrible at the daily grind part of projects. Which is something I need to work on. I need to get better at follow through and delivery. It’s great to have a plan, and a vision, but without the action… well, what was the point of all that dreaming.

 

So, one of the things I am seriously working on for 2012 is getting better at the action. I don’t want to dream less, I want to act more. Turn those visions into life. Maybe I’ll never be an award winning author with photographs in galleries and a super clean house full of awesome crafts I did with the kids (damn you, Pinterest!). But, I could totally be closer to that than I am now. Lights, camera, action!

 

3 Responses to “I’m a Starter”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Good for you.

    I, too, am a starter. For example, I started this really great plan for keeping my house clean a couple of months ago. It was going really great, and I was feeling really proud of myself and how good my house was looking. Then our little mister happened along…

    Now I haven’t cleaned anything in at least three weeks. My Beloved has been doing bits and pieces, but our sad little hobbit hole needs some serious love. I’m hoping I can get my mojo back again soon.

  2. […] enough to know that wouldn’t last. Eventually, I’d need a project or 80 (please see post from yesterday, about my love of starting projects). Plus, I’m the type that wants to leave a […]

  3. […] enough to know that wouldn’t last. Eventually, I’d need a project or 80 (please see post from yesterday, about my love of starting projects). Plus, I’m the type that wants to leave a […]


Leave a Reply

