Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

If I Had a Million Dollars June 6, 2012

We talk about this a lot around here. What would we do if we were rich. What would daily life look like?

I’m lazy enough to think it might look like Saturday morning for a few months. But, am ambitious enough to know that wouldn’t last. Eventually, I’d need a project or 80 (please see post from yesterday, about my love of starting projects). Plus, I’m the type that wants to leave a legacy for my family. A real legacy. something that my great-grand-kids will appreciate and benefit from. Like, a farm.

 

Yep, a farm.

 

If I had the money, I would totally invest in a large bit of land for my family (when G and my mom speak of this they call it “the compound” because “duh, the sky is falling”) and the tools to help us turn it into a relatively sustainable home. Meaning, renewable energy and on site water and growing the food. I’d love to have a working farm/tourist attraction concept. That is one of our favorite places to plunk down cash in the fall and would be another way to ensure we wouldn’t need day jobs. Not that I have a day job now…

 

Yes, given enough money I wouldn’t chose a life of less work, just a different kind of work. The kind where my boy gets to spend the days with his Daddy and learns the satisfaction of having personally had a hand in feeding his family. I would build a place where I know future generations could call home.

 

What would you do with a million dollars?

 

4 Responses to “If I Had a Million Dollars”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    I did a similar post not long ago…

    For me, my primary focus would be travel. Taking my family around the world, experiencing different cultures, different ways of thinking… basically getting out of our comfort zones and changing our perspectives.

    It’s fun to dream…

  2. Mine is very similar to yours- however on a smaller scale. I would love to have a hobby farm- enough to sustain us somewhat, but allow us the freedom to travel at will!

  3. jserra1985 Says:

    I always said I’d get a farm. Maybe with apple trees and/or pumpkins so the kiddo would learn about makeing money, working hard, and not getting life handed over on a pretty sliver plate. Also I love the idea of having goats, and a cow, and maybe some horses if I’m really really good.

  4. cassiedash Says:

    Oh, I’d buy a really big house for our very small family, but we’d never live in it because we’d be traveling all the time. I get restless easily and love, love, love seeing the world.


Leave a Reply

