Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Bad Case of the Almost Two’s August 18, 2012

Filed under: Baby G — arminta @ 5:23 pm

In 10 days I will be the mother of a two year old. (I’ll save all the “why he’s so cool” stuff for the birthday post 🙂 You’re welcome.)

 

It’s so hard to believe that time has gone this quickly. I am enjoying (a RARE) a moment of quiet while he naps and Daddy is out fishing and I happened to look at the newborn photo’s we have hanging on the wall. I can barely remember those days. Don’t get me wrong, I remember. But, it feels far away and fuzzy, now. Like a movie more than my life. Like high school or childhood or working. I miss that baby and those sweet days.

 

But…

 

Two is way more fun! When I pictured having a baby (way back when), the image was always of rocking an infant or going to the zoo with a kid. I can not recall ever once daydreaming about the toddler days. Because, they are supposed to be awful, right? WRONG!

 

Yes, there is much willfullness and yelling of “No!” Sure, there’s a bit of peeing on the floor and self undressing/constant nudity. I’ll concede that the mess making does get old. But… two is still way more fun than infancy.

 

Everyday there are new words and new ideas. Watching the little wheels turn and gears click is nothing short of amazing. There is literally NOTHING on the planet like hearing “I love you Mom-Mom” and knowing that he knows what he’s saying. Also, there is nothing on the planet cuter than a nekkid two year old running and laughing through the house. Nothing. Toddler booties are the cutest thing to ever exist. Especially when running.

 

Toddler bedtime has its challenges (the boy is back in our bed and shows no sign of leaving anytime soon, which is OK by me). But, the laughing and tickling and cuddling and sugars are unreal. Unreal. I let him stay up too late almost every night because it’s just too much fun to tickle and snuggle in the bed. Babies laugh, toddlers crack up.

 

Meeting the person inside of the baby is so much cooler than I ever imagined it could be. Big C was born old. He never seemed like a baby. That sounds strange, but if you’ve ever been around an old soul baby, you’ll know what I mean. And Lil C wasn’t around us much when he was a baby. So, this is finally a first experience with our own kid. And, like everything about him, it totally rocks socks.

 

4 Responses to “Bad Case of the Almost Two’s”

  1. jserra1985 Says:

    I agree. I have no idea what they mean by terrible twos. Sure there’s frustration, and willfulness, but anyperson figuring out the world for the first time would have some of that. Your so right about watching things unravel for them, its so awesome. We get pretty good cuddles and loves, and this boy gives the best hugs ever. Toddler years are awesome… and maybe the word should be spread. 🙂

  2. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    “Meeting the person inside of the baby…”

    That about sums up the almost-twos. Most of the time it totally rocks. Ginny just figured out “owie” the other day. Now everything is owie. 🙂 It’s fun, frustrating, and fabulous all in one go!

    Is it safe to assume that a sesame street themed party is in the works for the little man?

    • arminta Says:

      G insisted we take the boy into the doc when he learned “ow” because he said it so much. Amazingly, it was only when doing something he didn’t want (like getting in his carseat, having his diaper put on for naps, getting dressed)…

      Oh, yes. Next Saturday is Elmopalooza. I’m making that cake on my pinterest board and have already made the pom poms and banner.


Leave a Reply

