Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

Two. September 3, 2012

Filed under: Baby G — arminta @ 1:15 am

My sweet boy, you are now two and you rock my world every single day.

  • You have all but four of your teeth, and those four are trying to come in. Nana says I didn’t have all of my teeth when I turned two, either.
  • You are obsessed with animals. Your favorites are elephants, octopi and frogs.
  • You run and jump and do a crazy little half skip. You climb and dance. You are slightly clumsier than Sissy, but then, she’s freakishly well coordinated…
  • You love to talk. I could write books of the funny stuff you say. The other day Sissy pointed at a pear and said “apple” and you said “That’s not a apple, Sissy, you’re crazy!”
  • You sing. It’s hands down the most beautiful sound on the planet. You’re singing Twinkle, Twinkle right now while I’m typing. You also sing Itsy, Bitsy Spider and ABC’s and a song I made up that we call Rock-a-Baby.
  • You are not the champion of eating that you were a year ago, but you haven’t quite devolved to picky eating just yet. You still like bananas and apples. But, you love all forms of dairy. Your favorites are cheese (feta, parm, cheddar, american, swiss, havarti, you don’t care as long as it’s cheese! you even like bleu cheeses), cottage cheese and yogurt. You don’t much care for ice cream or anything super cold. You are a savory boy. You’ll take garlic bread over birthday cake any day of the week.

  • You are asking me for a bath right now. You still love bath time. You went through a little phase where you didn’t like getting wet, but the pool fixed that. You even dump water on you own head and put your face in the water. By the end of next summer I expect you’ll be properly swimming in the big pool.
  • You eat with utensils when you feel like it, and drink from a regular cup. You are all big boy at the table.
  • You sleep in my bed at night and your big boy bed at naptime. You love your big boy bed.
  • You “read” books to me sometimes, now. You are very particular about how books are read. Nana and Daddy get offended because you take books away from them and bring them to me when they aren’t reading them correctly. Truth be told? I freaking love that.
  • You and Ladybug are the cutest little duo since ever. I especially love to hear your conversations when she is talking in your guys’ baby language and you answer her in English. I got a little video of that the other day.
  • You have a collection of animals, Sesame Street figures and action figures that goes EVERYWHERE with you. Heaven help us if you can’t Oscar or an elephant, the world will end.
  • You know the name for literally every animal at the zoo. You also know their sounds and a lot of their habitats. I’d like to take credit for this, but you appear to have absorbed this info via osmosis.
  • The other day you told me “Hey Mom-mom, a pond is a turtle’s habitat” and I nearly died. You then finished pooping, stood up, looked at your poop and said “Look, G pooped a turtle!” Other amazing things you’ve told me: “Look, Mom-mom, I have one, two nostrils!”
  • You can count out loud to 15. When counting groups of objects you are good unless there are more than three.
  • You know all of your letters and are pretty good at naming the correct letter if I make its sound.
  • You have hit a potty wall, which is entirely my fault. As much as I love the idea of having you completely potty independent (I hate the word trained), I do like the convenience of diapers when we’re out. I suppose I should quit being lazy, because you love your Thomas underwear.
  • You say “quit that” and it’s adorable.
  • You know the words boo, zoo, go and dog by sight. I’m not going to call it reading, because it isn’t… but you do know those words.
  • There is so much more, but I don’t know how to articulate the essence of you. You are sweet and funny and empathetic and loving. You give the biggest hugs and squeezes and kisses.  You give out the “I love you’s” pretty freely now and each one melts my heart.
  • I love you so much. So much.
 

Leave a Reply

