Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity

or… adventures in infertility and babies and family drama!

20 questions… March 5, 2013

Filed under: Grown Up Slam Books — arminta @ 3:04 am

Apparently the PAIL bloggers are playing a game, and they are cool kids, and I do anything the cool kids are doing. I wanna play truth or dare next, ya’ll.

 

  1. What was the last thing you threw in the garbage/recycling? – Lime peels from the hummus I made at 11pm. Technically I threw them in the compost bin.
  2. What’s the #1 most played song on your iPod? – Ha! I don’t have an iPod, or any other listening device for that matter. I listen to Pandora or play YouTube videos. Right now, the most played song in the house is Tiger Boo (a ridic little song we found on YouTube). But, if we’re going off of MY preferences only, it’s Some Nights by Fun.
  3. What is your favorite quote? – I’m too drunk to taste this chicken.
  4. What chore do you absolutely hate doing? – Put laundry away. Vacuum. Dust. All of them. I hate chores.
  5. What is your favorite form of exercise? – Swimming. I am a whale at heart.
  6. What is your favorite time of day/day of the week/month of the year? – Time of Day: Nap time, duh; Day of the Week: Saturday, often times it’s the only day I get out of the house; Month of the Year: Late September/early October, it’s a month I made up called “Earlyfallber.”
  7. What is on your bedside table? – A sweater I’m crocheting for the boy, a bowl that had ice cream in it when I started this post, books (mine, his, ours), a charging Kindle (aka MORE books), a sippy cup full of water, a fish toy named “Baby Nemo,” and a Fisher Price DVD.
  8. What is your favorite body part? – My eyes.
  9. Would you use the power of invisibility for good or evil? Elaborate. – I would be so disappointed at having powers, but not being able to shape shift or rapid heal that I’d be too depressed to use it at all. JK, I’d totally rob a bank, but donate half the money to poor people.
  10. If you could choose to stay a certain age forever, what age would it be? – That’s a toughy. Do life situations stay frozen, too, or are we Dorian Gray’ing it? If life situations stay the same, I think I’ll go ahead and stick here so I can freeze the boy at two and we can all play forever. If everyone else is aging right along, then I think I’ll go with 23. I was smaller at 23 and in less pain, but could legally drink.
  11. What is the first thing you would do if you won the lottery? – First? Pay off all my shit! Then? Sell all my shit and get better shit!
  12. What is your biggest pet peeve? – You done asked the wrong persnickety bitch about pet peeves… Let’s go with: people who won’t do anything because they know the end result without having done anything, but who still complain about their current situation.
  13. If you could know the answer to any question, what would it be? – Why?
  14. At what age did you become an adult? – Am I an adult? I mean, I have a kid and own a house and pay bills, but I don’t really feel like a grown up.
  15. Recommend a book, movie, or television show in three sentences or less. – The Casual Vacancy changed my life.
  16. What did you do growing up that got you into trouble? – Smoked, snuck out, fought with sibs, drank… I were bad.
  17. What was the first album you bought with your own money? – The first NKOTB album. The one before Hanging Tough.
  18. If someone wrote a book about you, what would be the title? – Tales of Chocolate and Wine
  19. What story do you wish your family would stop telling about you? – IDK…
  20. True or false: The unicorn is the greatest mythical creature. State your case. – False! For my money the Phoenix and Vampire beat out Unicorn any day of the week.
 

5 Responses to “20 questions…”

  1. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Casual Vacancy was great. I know a lot of people who were too shocked by it to get the message, but I loved it.

  2. […] Minta @ Life Family and the Pursuit of Sanity […]

  3. SRB Says:

    ” I’m too drunk to taste this chicken.” Well now, THIS demands an explanation!

    I am curious to read Casual Vacancy but I am still to precious about protecting my HP bubble. This is another nudge to get over myself!

    • arminta Says:

      The quote is from Talladega Nights, and is thrown around here on a regular basis as the nonsense answer to nonsense questions 🙂 Also, it is used to describe how drunk I am from time to time…

      The Casual Vacancy was hard to read. The characters are every bit as real as Harry or the Weasleys or the students of Hogwarts (all of whom Rowling seems to just “know”), but they are FAR more flawed. Because they are more flawed, and most are not very lovable at all, she is quite a bit more brutal with them. There are no last minute savings from fate. There are no benevolent mentors keeping them “just safe enough” from behind the scenes. The drug addicts are drug addicts, the abusers are abusers, the cads are cads and they reap what they sow and so do the people around them. That said… it is moving and beautiful and profound. It is well planned, executed and written. Much like Harry Potter it stays with you, the characters are real people and even the ones you don’t like become ingrained. This is definitely one of those books that you put down and wonder how the world is continuing to spin and why no one else is crying. Of course, you’d expect nothing else from JK Rowling.


Leave a Reply

